About the Graduate School

University of Georgia | Graduate School | Brooks Hall | 310 Herty Drive | Athens, GA 30602

Established in 1910, the University of Georgia Graduate School oversees all graduate programs offered at UGA. Our faculty and administrators coordinate world-class graduate programs so that students receive the highest quality education and a valuable graduate degree. The Graduate School offers the Master of Arts, the Master of Science, and the Doctor of Philosophy in addition to professional master’s degrees. Professional doctoral degrees include education, music, and public health. The University also awards the Master of Education, the Specialist in Education, and the Doctor of Education. The Graduate School offers student assistantship, research, and travel funding, unique professional development opportunities, and a wide variety of programming for all graduate students.

Matters of policy and procedure pertaining to graduate education are determined by the University’s graduate program faculty through the Graduate Council. The policies adopted by the Graduate Council are administered by the Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School. The Vice Provost and Dean serves as the chief academic and administrative officer of the Graduate School and is a member of the University Cabinet. The Graduate School leadership team works with faculty and administrators across the University, as well as with regional, national, and international partners to strengthen graduate education across the disciplines.

Prior to the formal establishment of the Graduate School, courses of postgraduate status were offered under the control of a faculty committee on graduate studies. In 1910, the formal organization of graduate studies into a Graduate School was authorized. Dr. Willis H. Bocock served as the Graduate School’s first dean and was succeeded by R. P. Stephens, George H. Boyd, Gerald B. Huff, Thomas H. Whitehead, Hardy M. Edwards, Jr., John C. Dowling, Gordhan L. Patel, Maureen Grasso, and Suzanne Barbour. In 2020, Dr. Ron Walcott became the inaugural Vice Provost for Graduate Education and Dean of the Graduate School.

Graduate School Administration


Dean’s Office

Ron Walcott, Ph.D. Vice Provost for Graduate Education & Dean of the Graduate School
Anne Shaffer, Ph.D. Associate Dean
Judy Milton, M.Ed Assistant Dean
Meredith Welch-Devine, Ph.D. Assistant Dean
Bob Scott, Ph.D. Director of Special Projects
Kristine M. Groft Director of Marketing & Communications

Business Services

Tonia Austin-Brown Financial Services Director

Admissions & Enrolled Student Services

Cheri Bliss, M.Ed. Senior Director, Admissions and Student Services

Graduate School Organizational Chart


The University of Georgia is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) to award baccalaureate, master’s, specialist, and doctoral degrees. Questions about the accreditation of the University of Georgia may be directed in writing to the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, GA 30033-4097, by calling (404) 679-4500, or by using information available on SACSCOC’s website (www.sacscoc.org).

There is a three-fold purpose for publishing the address and contact number of the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. This is done to enable interested constituents:

  1. To learn about the accreditation status of the University of Georgia;
  2. To file a third-party comment at the time of the University of Georgia’s decennial review; or
  3. To file a third party complaint against the University of Georgia for alleged non-compliance with a standard of requirement of the Commission on Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools

As indicated above, normal inquiries about the University of Georgia (such as admission requirements, financial aid, educational programs, etc.) should be directed to the University of Georgia, not to the Commission’s office.

Ready to apply?