The Department of Mathematics is one of the highest ranked mathematics graduate programs in the southeast. It is also one of the largest departments at UGA. The Department of Mathematics offers four graduate degrees: Master of Arts (MA), Master of Arts Non-Thesis (MA), Master of Applied Mathematical Science (MAMS), and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD).

Degree Type: Doctoral

Degree Program Code: PHD_MATH

Degree Program Summary:

The Department of Mathematics is in UGA’s Franklin College of Arts and Sciences. It is located in Boyd Graduate Studies Research Center which is situated adjacent to the Science Library on UGA’s south campus. The department offers instruction and research training in the areas of algebra; analysis; applied mathematics; ordinary, partial, and stochastic differential equations; algebraic, differential, and integral geometry; mathematical physics; number theory; numerical analysis; probability and stochastic processes; and topology. Financial aid in the form of assistantships is available to students admitted into the graduate program. This support will be continued for five years, conditional on timely progress and a satisfactory academic record.

The PhD is the highest degree in Mathematics, designed to provide a broad background in the traditional areas of mathematics and also take students to the frontier of research. The program prepares students for careers in research and teaching at the university level, or the equivalent in government and industry. Admission to the PhD program requires a Bachelors or Masters degree in Mathematics or a related discipline.

Candidates for the PhD degree must pass written and oral qualifying exams, write a dissertation embodying the results of original research, and present a final oral defense of the dissertation.

Locations Offered:

Athens (Main Campus)

College / School:

Franklin College of Arts & Sciences

346 Brooks Hall
Athens, GA 30602




Graduate Coordinator(s):

View Degree Program Website

Unlocking potential. Building futures.

Apply Today