2023 Graduate School Alumni of Distinction Awards

Alumni of Distinction Awards

The University of Georgia Graduate School is pleased to present the 2023 recipients of the Alumni of Distinction Award. This award recognizes graduates who have achieved meritorious success in their professions, distinguished themselves as mentors and role models in their fields, and made substantive impact at the regional, national, and international levels. These graduate alumni exemplify the University of Georgia mission, “to teach, to serve, and to inquire into the nature of things.”

All graduate-level UGA alumni are eligible to be considered for the annual award. Recipients were nominated by their respective schools and colleges and selected by members of the Graduate Education Advancement Board.

The Graduate School Alumni of Distinction Award was established in 2012.

This year’s awardees are:


Consuelo De Moraes

Ph.D. in Entomology, 1998

College of Agricultural & Environmental Sciences


Timothy Puetz

Ph.D. in Excercise Science, 2006

Mary Frances Early College of Education


Paul Shoukry

Master of Accountancy, 2005

Terry College of Business


Ping Wang

Ph.D. in Pharmacy, 1998

College of Pharmacy


Carla Williams

Master of Public Administration, 1991

School of International & Public Affairs



Unlocking potential. Building futures.

Apply Today